GETTING READY FOR WINTER…..SEWING WITH MINKEE/CUDDLE

My friend, Rhonda Pierce, of Schmetz Needles produces a rather useful e magazine “Inspired to Sew” every few months. I thought you might like to have a look at issue #20 which came out in the summer. The whole e mag focusses on sewing with minkee, or to be exact,  Cuddle, which is marketed by Shannon Fabrics.

No, she is not wearing minkee in this pic but you will see her wearing a stunning mink-ee coat in the e mag. Here she is having fun at SEWEXPO in Puyallup 2015.

No, she is not wearing minkee in this pic but you will see her wearing a stunning mink-ee coat in the e mag. Here she is having fun at SEWEXPO in Puyallup 2015.

Don’t know about you…… but I LOVE minkee or cuddle. It is so supremely soft & cuddly and just speaks of warmth and comfort during cold winter months. However, I have often been asked questions about sewing with this fabric as it is actually not the easiest fabric to deal with! It is a knit so it does stretch whereas quilting flannels don’t.  And the minute you slice into it with your scissors or rotary cutter, you will have fluff everywhere……I’m not kidding. It also tends to slither & slide while you sew so pinning well with regular pins or Clover clips is essential. clover clips

There are lots of hints & tips for dealing with this tricky fabric and I really think it is a worthwhile exercise learning how to add sewing with minkee/cuddle to your toolbelt as the finished projects are so wonderfully comforting. Simply perfect for babies & toddlers, ……. & big people too!  Coats, jackets, lap quilts/knee rugs, scarves; gloves; hats; baby blankets; and more. You will see Rhonda modeling a fabulous coat in the link to this e mag…..it looks like she is wearing a mink coat…..only it is not: it is grooved mink fabric – one of the versions of cuddle!  Enjoy the read …..I know I did. And then get cracking with your winter sewing. The cold weather is not far off. Sorry, I know we don’t like to be reminded but we do need to be prepared with our warm cuddle projects!

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

