QUILTS OF VALOUR

vet

I did not know much about the Quilts of Valour organization.  But at a recent sewing show I attended in Calgary, Alberta, there was a display of some of the quilts that will be given to members of our Canadian Armed Forces. I decided to find out more so I chatted with a couple of the people who were at a table next to this display. I discovered it is a rather special organization with a team of people making quilts at any given time all over our big, beautiful country.  They support our Canadian Armed Forces members, past and present, with quilts of comfort in their time of need. What a lovely and noble cause, don’t you think?

vet quilt 1

I asked how do they know who needs a quilt of comfort? The answer is that they work together with the Canadian Armed Forces. Obviously there is person or department at CAF knows know who has been injured on duty and could do with a bit of quilting cheer in their lives. The Quilts of Valour organization then pass these quilts along to CAF. What a lovely thing we have going on right under our noses here in Canada. I wonder how many lovely, thoughtful quilters there are out there who are working on another Quilt of Valour as I write this……………probably more than a few!

vet quilt 2

I decided to share this with you on Remembrance Day. remembrance day

Here is a little more information lifted from the Quilts of Valour website:

A Quilt of Valour™ is a Tribute to a CAF Member – it is a “hug from the nation” to a CAF Member who serves and makes sacrifices for our country.

There is plenty information on their website if you are interested in finding out more + how you can contribute towards this endeavor.
vet quilt 3

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Charity Sewing and Quilting in Canada and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to QUILTS OF VALOUR

  1. Dawn Fielden says:

    Thank you for posting this, Liz. As the daughter of a WW II veteran (our mom) and the sister of a serving CAF member, QoV is a cause near and dear to my heart:-)

    Like

  2. Anne Madden says:

    It is a wonderful programm Liz that I am happy to be part of!

    Like

Share your comments

