The countdown is on!

IMG_0221-2

We are less than 25 days to Christmas. Have you finished crafting, preparing and shopping? Or maybe you have a “last minute list” of projects?

I actually got a little a head of the curve this year with a few of my sewing projects, but this is one last minute project that I know I can finish in just an afternoon (you still have time to complete this one before December 1st… or a few days after if you don’t mind starting a few days late).

Hanging an advent calendar has become a tradition in our house. I love counting down to December 25.

Some Advent calendars can get pretty elaborate which I why I love this pared down version. Each little pocket holds a tiny little treat – could be a small Christmas tree ornament, a small little chocolate or candy treat, or other items – you can be as creative as you like!

When creating this advent calendar, it’s helpful to think of it as a mini quilt. If you think of it that way then you can easily customize it. The essential component that you need for it to be a full advent calendar are the 25 pockets for little gifts, but other than that – make it your own!

Making the Mini Quilt

I started with a piece of white fabric that was 25 inches by 25 inches, I then created my quilt sandwich with batting and a backing of the same size.

Using a dissolving or erasable fabric marker, mark out your pockets in advance so you position them evenly. You need to make sure you have five pockets across and five pockets down each column in order to have enough – so space accordingly.

IMG_0213-2

Next prepare your pockets.

I cut match fabric strips 10 1/4 inches by 25 1/2 inches and folded them in half on the long side, right sides together. Stitch along the open long side and one shorter side with a 1/4 inch seam.

Turn right sides out and press in the 1/4 inch seam on the short side you left open.

Next I placed the pieces we just worked with on my larger fabric and lined up to get my markings for each pocket (marking where each pocket meets).

IMG_0215-2Now is the time to add on any appliqué for the pockets and your numbers. I used the number stitches on the Skyline S5 to create my numbers and it worked great! You can also embroider or find fabric with numbers.TG tree

Remove your strips to work on them separately (AND so you don’t sew through your advent calendar).

To make my trees, I cut out matching triangles and little tree stumps. Glue or pin down your appliqué pieces and then finish by stitching around the edges with a straight, zigzag or blanket stitch.

Pin your strips back onto the calendar backing.IMG_0216-2

 

Sew around the three edges of each strip and vertically between each pocket. I used a decorative stitch to add a little extra detail.

IMG_0217-2

Now you can bind, wash away markings and fill with treats and hang up – ready to count down the days to Christmas!IMG_0222-2

As I mentioned earlier, preparing Advent calendars for one another is a tradition in our home. Do you have a holiday tradition that you and your family cherish?

Making Merry Red

Making Merry Sneak Peek:

Tomorrow, December 1st, delivers Janome Life’s first day of MAKING MERRY with JANOME. December 1 – 12 will deliver little bits of Holiday crafting and sewing cheer from our Artisans and education team to kick up the holiday CQ (creativity quotient) and countdown to celebration time.

Nicole N preview

Sneak Peek for Making Merry Day 1

 

 

This entry was posted in Janome Sewing Machine, Sewing Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

