Making Merry: Quilt Binder edition

Making Merry RedWelcome to day nine of Making Merry with Janome

As our Holiday crafting shifts into high gear, we move into “get it done!” mode. A great tool to help you cross the finish line with your quilting projects is the Janome Quilt Binder set. Today, Liz will give you some great tips for using this time-saving accessory. As she says, “with 32 corners and 8 joins, you will be a binder set pro!”

blog 004

Smart corners and fast-finish straight-aways are specialties of the Quilt Binder set

Smart corners and fast-finish straight-aways are specialties of the Quilt Binder set

I am asked SO often while on my rounds & abouts across Canada to show how the Janome Quilt Binder set works.  Actually so often…. that I  keep it in a little zipper baggie and usually take it with me wherever I go.  This is a great Christmas or Birthday Wish List item so do let that special person in your life “spoil” you with this wonderful tool?!

419HMdIxdVL._SY355_

Our Janome Quilt Binder set is compatible with our Janome machines which have a rectangular shaped bobbin cover. Part #’s as follows:

  1. #846421007 is for 7mm machine models like the Janome Horizon 7700 and Mc11000; MC6600P; etc. Please ask your local Janome dealer for more information about your particular Janome model.
  2. #202211008 is for 9mm model machines like the Horizon 8200; 8900; MC9900; Skyline series; Mc12000; MC15000; etc. Again, please ask your local Janome Dealer for information.
The quilt binder comes with a base plate which fits over the bobbin cover area and the binder attachment is then screwed onto the bas e plate with the screws whch are included in this set. HINT: keep these screws in a little plastic pill bottle or similar to prevent loss.

The quilt binder comes with a base plate which fits over the bobbin cover area and the binder attachment is then screwed onto the base plate with the screws which are included in this set.  TIP: keep these screws in a little plastic pill bottle or similar container to prevent loss.

images (1)

Quilt Binder c

A 2 inch wide strip of binding is fed into the binder attachment and the pic above clearly shows how it folds the binding in half and tucks the raw edges in. All that remains is to pass the quilt edge into the “mouth” of the binder and stitch the binding onto the quilt in ONE step.

This is how the quilt should be feeding into the binding

This is how the quilt should be feeding into the binding

Yes…. and I know what you are now thinking….HOW do I turn the corners and handle the join of the 2 ends of the binding? I am not going to specifically cover that here but I will refer you to some of the many video’s that are available to teach you how to do these techniques much better than a few words I write here as you can watch & follow along visually.  So here are some great video links you may use:

  1. How to set up the binder
  2. Dealing with corners & joins?
  3. And another one by Linda from start to finish
  4. Janome America’s video on this Quilt Binder
Notice that the foot being used in this pic is the foot that comes with the Quilt binder set. It works well. However, I have been asked many times if we should not rather be using a walking foot or Acufeed/Acufeed Flex foot seeing as we are feeding & sewing multiple layers of fabric. Good question. I frequently use the Acufeed flex foot narrow and I get great feeding of the fabric. The foot that comes with the binder is shorter so it does give a little more space behind the binder & in front of the foot which is helpful. However when you get the hang of the technique, the longer Acufeed flex or walking foot also works just fine.

Notice that the foot being used in this pic is the foot that comes included with the Quilt binder set. It works well. However, I have been asked many times if we should not rather be using a walking foot or Acufeed/Acufeed Flex foot seeing as we are feeding & sewing multiple layers of fabric. Good question. I do frequently use the Acufeed flex foot (the narrow single feed dog one) and I get great feeding of the fabric. The foot that comes with the binder is shorter so it does give a little more space behind the binder & in front of the foot which is helpful. However when you get the hang of the technique, the longer Acufeed flex or walking foot also works just fine.

Another question I am often asked is: "OK, so that is doing a single binding. How can I do the double binding that I prefer on my quilts?" Also, good question. NO problem: just lay the binding fabric on your cutting table, spray it with glue and then put a second layer of fabric on top right side up. Smooth out any wrinkles and press with an iron. NOW cut & join the 2 nch wide strips which are obviously a double layer of fabric. Feed into the binder and proceed as above. I have done it many times - it works perfectly and yu have a double binding done in lickety split half the time it takes to do a traditional double fold binding method! Serious. I have timed myself many times and I can bind a queen size quilt from cutting the binding strips to finish in less than 45 minutes.

Another question I am often asked is: “OK, so that is doing a single binding. How can I do the double binding that I prefer on my quilts?” Also, good question. NO problem: just lay the binding fabric on your cutting table, spray it with glue and then put a second layer of fabric on top right side up. Smooth out any wrinkles and press with an iron. NOW cut & join the 2 inch wide strips which are obviously now a double layer of fabric. Feed into the binder and proceed as above. I have done it many times and have proved to myself  that it works perfectly. Voila! Double binding done in lickety-split half the time it takes to do a traditional double-fold binding method with machine sewing! Serious….. I have timed myself many times and I can bind a queen size quilt from cutting the binding strips to finish in less than 45 minutes. Probably 1/10 of the time it takes to hand sew binding? Don’t know as I do not hand sew my binding….ever.

Pretty impressive and it does not take long to master the technique and build up speed with the process. I usually suggest people make a set of 8 quilted placemats. Bind them all and after 32 corners & 8 joins you will be a “pro” at using the Janome Quilt Binder set!

blog 002

 

 

Sneak Peek for tomorrow’s Merry Making

Cynthia Merry dots - CopyBe sure to visit again tomorrow as you will not want to miss Cynthia’s merry project that could be just the bit of stitching therapy you need to calm stress and get in the maker’s zone.

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Janome Quilt Binder set and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making Merry: Quilt Binder edition

  1. Debra Merrill says:

    Hello! I have the Janome 8200QC and I would love to find out if the quilt binder set fits my machine and the # so i can order it from a dealer. We have no one here to help with this.
    Thanks

    Like

  2. Donna Morton says:

    Love how the Flourish Alphabet on the Janome MC500E is used in the Joy wall hanging! If only there were more hours in a day!

    Like

Share your comments

