SHINING THE SPOTLIGHT ON JANOME OWNER AND ART QUILTER: JACKIE WHITE

Jackie has presented classes on making these incredible 3D Fabric flowers. Some of you might even have taken a class she offered at the Creativ Festival in Toronto in October 2015?

Jackie has presented classes on making these incredible 3D Fabric flowers. Some of you might even have taken a class she offered at the Creativ Festival in Toronto in October 2015?

Jackie White is one talented and enthusiastic lady who lives on Manitoulin Island in Northern Ontario  which just happens to be the largest fresh water island in the world…..Yes, we looked that up and the pics of where she lives, look pretty stunning. Lucky you, Jackie!

2

We have had the privilege of working alongside Jackie at several recent QUILT CANADA SHOWS – in 2014 at Brock University in St Catherines, Jackie was the incoming President of the Canadian Quilter’s Association where Janome had a booth in the Merchant Mall as well as being a major sponsor of the show – we supplied the sewing machines in the workshops amongst other things. In 2015, at Quilt Canada in Lethbridge, we continued to work closely with Jackie who was nearing the end of her term as CQA/ACC President. We have had some real fun times together  – usually involving chocolate!

Jackie is the very proud Mom of 2 energetic boys who sure keep her busy when she is not quilting!

Jackie is the very proud Mom of 2 energetic boys who keep her busy when she is not quilting.

Jackie was one of our guest bloggers on ‘MAKING MERRY WITH JANOME” earlier this month. Jackie joined us on Day 3.   Jackie and her vibrant art quilts and 3D fabric flowers have been featured in many different magazines (including “Where Women Create” mentioned in this Janome Making Merry blog post) . She has also exhibited her beautiful quilts in multiple Quilt Shows including Quilt Market & Quilt Festival in Houston, Texas. Janome has been pleased to feature her polka dot rainbow quilt “Rockin’ the rainbow” in ads and posters – part of our Janome Stitch Story series (see pic below) . Like I said…..Jackie is very talented.  Thank you, Jackie for sharing some of your inspiring work with us.

image5

4

I asked Jackie to tell us why she loves her Janome. Here is her reply:

#5 reason: It never ever breaks down.   (and yes I am counting down… it is the Christmas season … and my kids are counting down!)

#4 :It takes all kinds of thread.. thick, thin, invisible, and keeps on giving me perfect stitches.  And no, I have never ever adjusted my tension!   (I bought my Janome at Quilt Canada 2011)

 #3: It takes anything… from silk, to satin to denim… and doesn’t skip stitches or quit sewing.   I most often have cotton under it… but I do have two little boys that need their jeans hemmed, usually 10 minutes before the bus comes.. and I don’t switch feet or change tension….. I don’t have to do anything. I just slide the 3 layers of denim under the foot and hem their pants! 

#2: I love my large “throat” – or the space between needle and arm of machine – that allows me to quilt my big quilts without allowing me to say a whole bunch of not nice words … because I have the room to move.

#1: I can free motion… and that is my fav thing on my machine.  I don’t hand quilt – sometimes I do straight stitching… on my modern quilts… but most times, I let loose and free motion quilt . I LOVE, LOVE , LOVE my Janome for that! I never have a bunch up, never have tension issues… and can put my fancy threads in and off I go.  That is why my Janome and I are besties!  Forever! Well, until I upgrade to another Janome!

5

 

About Janome Canada

For over 100 years, Janome has been the brand of choice for sewing, embroidery, longarm quilting, sergers, coverhem machines - and MORE! Our Janome Canada head office; our Janome HQ, is the Janome Sewing and Learning Centre in Oakville, ON. Be sure to follow us here on Janome Life blog, as well as our other Janome Canada social media so you get the most from your Janome machine! @janomehq @janomecanada Janome HQ Facebook, Janome Canada Facebook Janome HQ You Tube channel, Janome Life You Tube channel
This entry was posted in Creativity, Janome Quilt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SHINING THE SPOTLIGHT ON JANOME OWNER AND ART QUILTER: JACKIE WHITE

Comments are closed.