Artistic Edge 15: Create a crystal design

Each of the exercises from the instruction book helps us to understand a specific technique. Let’s practice some possibilities of adding rhinestones to certain parts of an embroidery design by following the instruction step by step:

ex 1

crystal-1

A crystal on each eye!

Plus, the software allows you to add rhinestones, one at a time wherever you choose to put it. On this motif,  I added a blue crystal manually on the eye of each bird with the option ‘Create crystal shape’ as on the picture above :

a1

Let’s elaborate more on the  ‘Crystal’ function in the next exercise:

Without any adjustment, we might automatically obtain too many rhinestones. So, we have two options: We just have to choose the one that suits us the best for the design  – without too much manipulation. To achieve this, you have to previously select  ‘View’  and the function ‘Overlapping Crystals’

overlapping

I used the same instructions for this next design # CDW0095.ngs. Let’s choose the sequence in red only; in the dialog box > Object Properties > Crystals and then:

  1. Select ‘Separate to crystals’ : this allows you to select each crystal mark with a yellow X and move or delete them
  2. Select ‘Spacing’ : this allows you to easily space all the crystals at the same time

See the difference between the two pictures:

a3

Spacing automatic: the rhinestones are too close to each other

b3

Perfect spacing: none of the rhinestone are touching

b1

Place the rhinestone according to your preference

The last step is to send the design to the Edge to cut the template for the crystals, & then to transfer them with the transfer sheet to apply this sticky film where you need the crystals to be adhered to the garment. The last step is to iron the design so the crystals will stick in place. This operation becomes so much easier when using the Artistic Press because of the correct heat and pressure.

picture51

Such a precious tool !

Now that you have the detailed explanation, it is time to practice!!!

Please visit the Janome authorized dealer in your area to see samples and to participate to a demonstration!

About Céline Ross

À cause des imprévus de la vie, j'ai changé de carrière très tôt dans ma jeune vie d'adulte. Toute mon éducation scolaire, du primaire au secondaire et jusqu'au professionel, m'a été enseigné par les religieuses CND qui étaient... très exigeantes. Ces professeurs m'ont inculqué le goût de bien apprendre, l'appréciation du travail bien fait et l'envie de toujours me perfectionner. Je n'aurais jamais osé ouvrir mon École de couture sans cette formation ni cette certification. Lorsque je deviens revendeur autorisé Janome en avril 1982, la compagnie poursuit ma formation côté machine à coudre et je deviens Éducatrice. Mon travail est varié; je donne des formations aux marchands Janome pour l'Est du Canada et d'ailleurs. Je participe à des Salons, à Janome Institute, je publie un cyber bulletin, j'ai fondé un 'Club de broderie' à Montréal en 1994 et, depuis l'année dernière, chez d'autres marchands. Je confectionne des échantillons avec les nouveaux produits que Janome ne cesse de développer. Et, depuis aujourd'hui, je blogue ! Après toutes ces années dans ce domaine, je garde toujours le même enthousiasme à apprendre et à transmettre mes connaissances. Janome est à la fine pointe de la technologie moderne et ne cesse de me faire progresser.
This entry was posted in Artistic Edge 15 Digital Cutter, Artistic embroidery software and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments

