MAKE AN IPAD CARRY CASE ENTIRELY ON A SERGER WITH CHAINSTITCH?!?!

This practical iPad or tablet case/cover is made entirely on a SERGER.....yes, you heard correctly!

This practical iPad or tablet case/cover is made entirely on a SERGER…..yes, you heard correctly!

I started this around about this time last year but only recently finally put the finishing touches to it……been using it a lot on my travels for my iPad.

DSCN0499

There is a flap over which has fusible web applique circles sewn in place with criss-crossing SERGER  chain stitch

The back of the case has a large zippered pocket. The pocket was quilted with serger chain stitch too AND the zipper was inserted using chain stitch. Who said you cant use a serger for LOTS of regular sewing?

The back of the case has a large zippered pocket. The pocket was quilted with serger chain stitch too AND the zipper was inserted using chain stitch. Who said you cant use a serger for LOTS of regular sewing?

Close up pic of the quilting

Close up pic of the quilting. I just did a rough grid of lines. A serger sews SO quickly so this quilting got done lickety split fast.

OK so I will admit I sewed the Velcro strips on with a zig-zag at my JANOME SEWING MACHINE . However, I could have used the serger chain stitch!

OK so I will admit I sewed the Velcro strips on with a zig-zag at my JANOME SEWING MACHINE . However, I could have used the serger chain stitch!

Sorry, I don’t remember the name of the pattern I used and seem to have mislaid it but I think intermediate sewers could probably figure this out easily without needing a pattern.

 

 

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, JANOME CPX COVERPRO SERGER, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MAKE AN IPAD CARRY CASE ENTIRELY ON A SERGER WITH CHAINSTITCH?!?!

  1. Emily says:

    Just as Marnie above unknowingly thought, this is a VERY misleading post! Not every serger will sew a chain stitch, just as no coverhem machine will ever overlock and cut. The title should be more accurately titled using both words “Coverhem & serger” or even better “using a 5 thread serger”.

    Like

  2. colette says:

    Hi Liz – is there a pattern for this – see you at the TradeX this weekend!

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Apologies, I seem to have mislaid my pattern and do not recall the name/pattern company. But I am sure there are many similar patterns available which will do the same thing.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  3. Marnie says:

    I promised my hubby I wouldn’t ask for any more new Janome machines after he bought me the fabulous Horizon MC15000. Hmm. A new serger might be needed. I would love a serger that did the coverhem. lol. What serger model would you recommend?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi,
      You could add the Janome CPX2000 Coverhem only machine to what you already have with your 4 thread serger. The Janome 1200D is our 5 thread serger.
      Come & see us at the Sewing Show this weekend and we will show you!

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  4. Marnie says:

    What a fab idea Liz. I have 4 thread Janome serger. Never tried a serger chainstitch. Do I just use the 1st & 2nd thread?

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Marnie,
      You need a 5 thread serger or a dedicated Coverhem serger in order to do chain stitch: 1 needle and the chain stitch looper.
      Sorry, a 4 thread serger won’t give you chain stitch.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

Share your comments

