EYE CANDY FROM LONDON, ENGLAND

On a recent visit to London, England for my grandson’s birthday, I spent an enjoyable time at the Victoria & Albert Museum. I took lots of pics hoping to share some of these with you.

The inner courtyard at the Victoria and Albert Museum where many people were taking advantage of the lovely spring weather

The inner courtyard at the Victoria and Albert Museum where many people were taking advantage of the lovely spring weather

Yes, I am not always a good girl! My linch that day was very British cream scones!

Yes, I am not always a good girl! My lunch that day was very British cream scones!

Just look at the pillars & ceiling in the restaurant.....can you see parts of this in a quilting or embroidery project? I can.

Just look at the pillars & ceiling in the restaurant…..can you see parts of this in a quilting or embroidery project? I can.

And another pic taken as I ate my cream scone......what a venue for tea?!?

And another pic taken as I ate my cream scone……what a venue for tea?!?

This fascinated me. Martha Edlin did this embroidery way back between 1670 & 1680. The small scale of her work shows her skill - the tiny stitches on the pin cushions. She was just 13 when she made some of the items on display.

This fascinated me. Martha Edlin did this embroidery way back between 1670 & 1680. The small scale of her work shows her skill – the tiny stitches on the pin cushions. She was just 13 when she made some of the items on display.

Day dress dated 1835-1838

Day dress dated 1835-1838

This is a cotton chemise dated 1820-1830. I am no expert on period clothing but I think a chemise was worn underneath a dress rather like a petticoat

This is a cotton chemise dated 1820-1830. I am no expert on period clothing but I think a chemise was worn underneath a dress rather like a petticoat

Dresses were such an investment that they were often made with separate bodices for different occasions and evening wear. Extra pieces like the lace peplum could be added for further variation. Crinolines requires such vast amounts of fabric - the hem of this dress is more than 5 metres of fabric!

Dresses were such an investment that they were often made with separate bodices for different occasions and evening wear. Extra pieces like the lace peplum could be added for further variation. Crinolines required such vast amounts of fabric – the hem of this dress is more than 5 metres of fabric! This dress dates back to approx 1869 -1870.

I put this in for a bit of a giggle.....a WOOL swimsuit dated 1937-1939.....Can you imagine going for a dip in that?!

I put this in for a bit of a giggle…..a WOOL swimsuit dated 1937-1939…..Can you imagine going for a dip in that?!

And another one!

And another one!

This evening gown was designed by Jeanne Lanvin 1967-1946 and is silk chiffon with gilded kid leather inset pieces.

This evening gown was designed by Jeanne Lanvin 1967 and is silk chiffon with gilded kid leather embellishment.

 

 

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to EYE CANDY FROM LONDON, ENGLAND

  1. Sandra Clark says:

    Thank you. I can remember seeing the wool swim suits in pictures of my parents, etc. Going for a dip would be one thing……coming out with it stretched beyond belief was a whole different thing.

    Like

  2. Sam says:

    Here in UK I remember having a knitted swimming costume when I was small – I was born in 1953! I also believe a chemise is a petticoat. I’ve not made it to the V&A yet – I don’t like London and hated the year I spent there, I’m a country girl, but now you’ve got me thinking maybe I should pay it a visit.

    Like

  3. Audrey says:

    Loved seeing these fashions. Thank you for sharing with us. Audrey

    Like

Share your comments

