GIVING NEW LIFE TO A HO-HUM T-SHIRT

upcycled t shirt 2

OK, so I bought a pack of 4 t-shirts a while back in different colours. This white one quickly looked grungy (perhaps the fault of “he who does the laundry”? But I won’t complain too much lest I end up having to do it myself!)

Anyway, point is I was not wearing this t-shirt much. Do you have items of clothing in your closet that have lost their appeal? Do you turf these out to the thrift store? Perhaps some could be upcycled quickly and easily so you can wear the garment again?

I recently came across a lovely post on www.sew4home.com . Do you know this website? If not, we highly recommend you check it out. They exclusively use Janome machines for all their sewing projects and there is a NEW project EVERY day together with an archive of 100’s, if not 1000’s, of projects.

Anyway, this one focussed on giving new life to an old t-shirt.

I found some rather nice wide lace in my stash and set to work. It did not take long to pin the lace in place (which was great and it covered over a stubborn stain). Then I zig-zag stitched the lace down over the t-shirt. Next the t-shirt was cut away behind the lace. And finally I stitched over the edges of the lace again to secure it + stitched the seam in the lace down the one side seam.

Voila! new life breathed into my white t-shirt:

upcycled t shirt 1

 

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GIVING NEW LIFE TO A HO-HUM T-SHIRT

  1. Ann Weigl says:

    What a good idea. Personally, I would not necessarily cut away the T-Shirt at the bottom, being 72.

    Like

Share your comments

