WE SHINE THE SPOTLIGHT ON THE EXTRAORDINARY QUILTER CARYL BRYER FALLERT-GENTRY

 

img_0263

I was fortunate enough to recently travel south of our border into Washington State with a good quilting friend of mine to hear Caryl Bryer Fallert-Gentry speak at a Quilting Guild meeting. Despite the windy and rainy weather, my friend and I had a fabulous time. Caryl is, to put it quite simply, a VERY amazing and super-talented lady. She shared a bit of her life’s journey with us and then explained how she makes her award winning quilts. She had brought along a number of her quilts which were on display and I was just about dancing as they were SO magnificent.

img_0226

Caryl has moved from her store & studio in Peducah, Kentucky to Port Townsend in Washington state and has retired from teaching, although she still creates her magnificent quilts in her studio overlooking Puget Sound.  So I did realize that this presentation was a rare and special occasion – and I enjoyed it all the more.

BTW, if you ever manage to visit the Pacific Northwest, be sure to visit Port Townsend. It is just lovely!

1

2

3

I have included a scanned copy of Caryl’s leaflet above as I would never be able to do justice to what she explained to us: she has a very unique and highly effective way of constructing her quilts from graded colours of fabric to her “applipiecing” to her jaw-droppingly stunning free motion quilting. In all honesty, these pictures can’t do her exquisite work justice but nonetheless I share them with you. Enjoy the quilting eye candy!!

img_0232

Close up showing the free motion quilting

Close up showing the free motion quilting

img_0227

And a close up

And a close up

This one was very different from her abstract studies and I loved it just as much

This one was very different from her abstract studies and I loved it just as much

Caryl was asked by one of thequilters if she ever does nay traditional quilting. Her answer was no, not really, but pointed to this quilt as about the closest she gets to traditional.

Caryl was asked by one of the quilters if she ever does any traditional quilting. Her answer was no, not really, but pointed to this quilt as about the closest she gets to traditional.

img_0254

Can you sign your name with free motion thread? Caryl sure can!

Can you sign your name in thread? Caryl sure can!

img_0258

And a close up

And a close up

img_0267

And a close up

And a close up – unbelievable free motion, don’t you agree?

img_0286

Thank you, Caryl, it was an inspiring morning! And thank you to the Evergreen Quilters Guild in Mount Vernon, Washington who arranged the event.

 

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WE SHINE THE SPOTLIGHT ON THE EXTRAORDINARY QUILTER CARYL BRYER FALLERT-GENTRY

  1. Wanda Presley says:

    These quilts are as far from Sue Bonnet redwork as possible: I LOVE THEM! How inspiring and creative. This is what I want to do & why I got into quilting. Please keep it coming! 🙂

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Wanda,

      So glad you liked the post. Your jaw would have been on the floor like mine was if you had been there standing in front of her quilts. Mind blowing! Me too about the art quilts……Im doing more of that and am loving it.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

Share your comments

