…………….AND GREEN IT IS!

You may have seen that this green is the pantone Colour of the year for 2017........Im thrilled as I love pretty much any shade of green. So.......hint about what might be coming on sewing and quilting samples in 2017? We shall see.

You may have seen that this green is the pantone Colour of the year for 2017.

I happen to love most shades of green so I’m pleased about this. But the question is……what to create using this colour?

I gathered together just a few things as a start. I like to do this as I find it often sparks creativity and leads to some great project ideas.  This becomes a sort of springboard into the creative process. Do you work this way? Do you prefer to work from a book or a pattern? Or an online project idea?

pantone-green-1

Another method of sparking creativity that I find works well for me is to create a Pinterest Board and load it up with anything which grabs my attention on the theme or colour or concept I am thinking of. Even if the concept is fairly vague at this point, I find building a Pinterest Board helps me to focus and hone what idea might be building in my head.

Did you know that you can have a secret Pinterest Board? Just for you or for those who you inviteto share it with you? It wont be public so you can be as goofy as you like!

Love this fabric - just not sure what it will become yet?!

Love this fabric – just not sure what it will become yet?!

About lizafrica

I work in the Education Dept at Janome & Elna, Canada and LOVE to sew. I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to …………….AND GREEN IT IS!

  1. Janice LeBlanc-Sitts says:

    Green Green Green is my absolute favourite colour…always has been — your sample fabrics shown here are beautiful…can’t wait to see your finished product!!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Kan says:

    I have that same green batik fabric…And I love it so much I haven’t used it yet. Guess I’m saving it for just the “right” project….as soon as I fgure out what the “right” project is…lol

    Like

  3. Ma Mc says:

    I enjoy seeing what others have made with colours I don’t usually use 🙂 Patterns are my first choice when I want to get right down to business, then browsing books or Magazines. Sometimes laying out the fabric as you suggest – to see what creativity comes to mind. This is what will have to be done with this particular colour of green…not one of my ‘safe’ go to colours, but one that will be an interesting add to a new project 🙂 Thanks for your posts, and tip on a ‘private’ board!

    Like

  4. Christina Mejer says:

    Not sure I like this color or would wear it, but I have lots of friends who adore green ! Let us know what you decide to make with that pretty batik .

    Like

Share your comments

