Reverse Appliqué for Valentine’s Day

valdayrapp

Am I the only one who is finding it hard to believe that we are almost through the first month of 2017?

And a few weeks out from Valentine’s Day?

While you can certainly use the reverse appliqué technique at any time of the year, I love using it for heart shaped applications.

I made this cute, little, lined tote using basic construction methods. The panels are 12 x 13 inches and it has batting sandwiched in-between so I could do a little quilting. The handles were 4 inches wide by 12 inches long and then folded (like binding).

Reverse appliqué is a fun technique and I love the finish.

Often times I might opt for a raw edge finish when I appliqué as a turned edge sometimes seems a bit finicky. But reverse edge appliqué is efficient and gives a nice finished look.

dsc_3873

To start I found a heart image that I wanted to use and printed it out on paper. I used this as a template to cut out a piece of fusible webbing.

dsc_3875

My heart shaped fusible webbing was centred on the front panel of my tote and then ironed/fused to the wrong-side of the front panel.

dsc_3877

Leaving a 1/4 to 1/2 inch border, I cut out the inside of my heart.

dsc_3878

I made cut marks all the way around the edge of the fusible webbing so that I would be able to turn the edge back easily and then removed the paper for the fusible webbing.

dsc_3879

And pressed the edges back to the wrong side with a hot iron.

dsc_3880

When you turn the front panel over you can see you have a nice finished edge.

dsc_3881

Because I wanted to use this cute fabric, I did a fussy cut finish (this is where you cut the piece of fabric so that a particular part of the printed design is centred/featured).

dsc_3882

And sandwiched it between the front panel and batting.

dsc_3883

At this point I remembered something I read recently on the Janome Life blog. Liz shared her favourite appliqué foot.

 

dsc_3871

In her post, she talked about two feet she likes to use: the Button Sewing Foot – T (left) and the Open Toe Sewing Satin Stitch Foot – F2 (right). Liz mentioned that you can take the little blue part comes off the end of the latter and it becomes very versatile for appliqué.

dsc_3884

I admit, I don’t utilize my sewing machine feet as much as I should but this seemed like a great opportunity to try a new appliqué method.

dsc_3885dsc_3887Well – let me tell you, it works like a charm! It made navigating those curved edges so easy.

Sheesh, I remember a quilt I did this time last year with appliqué. If only I had used the proper sewing machine foot! Lesson learned.

I finished the back of my tote with some diagonal straight line quilting. dsc_3893Now my Reverse Appliqué Valentine’s Day tote is ready to fill with sweet treats for my favourite girls. dsc_3889

Have you tried reverse appliqué? What is your go-to appliqué method? Be honest, how many feet on your sewing machine have you tried out?

This entry was posted in APPLIQUE WITH JANOME and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reverse Appliqué for Valentine’s Day

  1. Sheree says:

    I have utilized the standard silver foot (don’t know proper name), walking foot (love it), and button hole foot. New to sewing so still discovering different things about my machine.

    Like

Share your comments

