CUTE DOUBLE ZIPPER BOX BAG

I discovered this pattern at a Sewing show about 8 months ago (Yes, I know……I’m guilty of taking a long time to get to actually sewing some projects!). This pattern has been sitting on my desk making ugly faces at me for a long time. Well, it can just quit doing that now as the bag has been made – YAY ……. and I will make more so this won’t be the only one.

The pattern was not expensive or I don’t think I would have purchased it. It has a rather nice little instruction booklet with colour pics arranged in a step-by-step format. This is a good thing as I have not previously attempted making a bag with a double zipper – essentially a bag with 2 separate inner compartments so there are 2 sets of linings and 2 zippers to insert. Don’t get put off! It was not hard to do. I just had to follow the instructions carefully this first time. The construction method is unexpected although clever. I did not get stuck but the pattern designer has her email address in the pattern to contact her anytime if you have questions – a nice touch, I thought.

I like the fabric and fortunately had zippers and lining fabric that worked well with it. This is the large size bag and ended up being about 10 inches long by approx. 4-5 inches wide. There are also pattern pieces for a medium and small bag in the same double zipper style. I’m thinking a set of all 3 sizes would be really handy for traveling. …………and for gifts! Christmas in July? Perhaps I may get some Christmas gifts made for family and friends this year? And pigs may fly too seeing as I have still not unpacked all the boxes since my house move several months ago!

I think this bag style may be just the thing for a number of applications: Sewing accessories like in the pic below?

Cosmetics & toiletries for travelling? I would possibly use firm plastic or a cotton fabric coated in plastic ( some quilt stores sell this) to line the bag if I was using it for cosmetics & toiletries.

The handle makes it quite convenient to hang on a hook or hanger in a hotel room where there may not be a lot of bathroom shelf space. I often find this is the case….not all hotel rooms are designed equally!

The zipper insertion was unusual but not difficult and I was glad I followed the step by step instructions as they eventually made sense. I was glad I did not  think myself too clever by trying to “wing it”. The ends of the zipper – often very tricky to insert neatly into these types of bags  – was very easy and worked well.

I decided to quilt the outer bag fabric and batting layers together before I embarked on the construction of the bag. I used that lovely Serpentine stitch shown below. I made this little bag exclusively on the Janome MC9400 and on this Janome model, the Serpentine stitch is #20 in the Quilting menu. However, many of our Janome machines have this stitch so you should be able to find it on your machine. You can adjust the stitch width and length if you wish. I did on this bag: SW 6 and SL 2.  I used a variegated cotton thread in my needle and an aqua/turquoise poly sewing thread in my bobbin.

Well, there you have it. I will not be sharing the exact pattern instructions as that would be a copyright enfringement. This is more of a “show & tell” and pattern review. It definitely gets the “thumbs up” from me.

Pattern details: Annex double-zip box pouch by Sara Lawson under the Sew Sweetness pattern label. Enquire at your local Quilt store or visit www.sewsweetness for more information about where you can obtain this pattern.

WHAT ARE YOU SEWING THIS SUMMER?

We think it is a fun way to capitalize on great weather by setting up a sewing table on the patio or under a lovely big beach umbrella –  that is what extension cords are for!

Hold this thought as we will be asking for your input on this question in a post later this week —— a Janome summer giveaway that you are not going to want to miss. Stay tuned.

 

 

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Creativity, PATTERN REVIEW and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CUTE DOUBLE ZIPPER BOX BAG

  1. Jes Findlay says:

    Love it! I may have to put that pattern and project on my “list”!

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Jes,

      Thanks for your comments. I had not seen a baggie like this before and “jumped” on the pattern when I saw it. Very practical and will be going with me on my travels from early next month right through until December! Meds in one side, cosmetics in the other.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

Share your comments

