JANOME HORIZON MC9400 – A FIRST LOOK

Kim Jamieson-Hirst of Chatterbox Quilts, recently took delivery of her new Janome MC9400 and is excited to share some discoveries with you. Kim is one of our Janome Canada Artisans.

I recently received a Janome Horizon Memory Craft 9400 QCP (Janome 9400) and I’m excited to share my first impressions of it with you.

There are many new and improved features on this machine:

  • automatic needle threader
  • automatic presser foot lifter
  • improved lighting
  • additional thread cutter foot pedal
  • NEW professional grade needle plate, to name just a few.

You can watch an overview of these and other features on the Janome MC9400 on my YouTube channel. 

I want to give you a closer look at 3 features on this machine that I know will increase your productivity and allow you to complete your projects quicker.

#1 Improved Lighting
We all know that you have to see to stitch and good lighting is a crucial component of any sewing machine. The Janome MC9400 has amazing lighting! There are lights under the machine neck to illuminate the throat space and bed of the machine, as well as lights at the needle itself. As if this wasn’t enough, there is an additional pullout light on the top, left side of the machine. The retractable High Light™ can be angled to shine the light exactly where you need it in the needle area. When you are done using it, it simply retracts back into the body of the Janome MC9400. I love this lighting feature! All of the lights on the Janome MC9400 are LED, so they stay cool while you stitch and you don’t have to worry about accidentally burning yourself as you move your project around on the machine.


#2 Automatic Presser Foot Lifter
You can now lower the presser foot lower as you start stitching and lift when you stop stitching – automatically! I love using this feature in conjunction with the thread cutter: I just put my fabric under the presser foot and start to stitch: the presser foot comes down automatically and raises automatically when I stop stitching. I press the thread cutter button (or use the foot pedal – another new feature) and the threads are cut automatically too.  I can also program the machine to automatically cut the threads after the tie off/lockstitch has been used. I don’t have to put the presser foot down myself before I start to stitch again, I just start stitching, the presser foot lowers, and there are no thread nests on the back of my project at all! I can see how this feature will be a real timesaver.

You can also adjust the height that the presser foot lifts (hover) when you stop stitching. I like this ability to personalize the settings on the presser foot lifter. I know that the automatic presser foot lifter will be a real help when I am finishing the appliqué edges on my fusible web appliqué projects.#3 Professional Grade Needle Plate and HP Foot
The professional grade needle plate is a single hole needle plate to be used when stitching a straight stitch. The combination of the professional grade needle plate and the HP foot allows you to stitch a perfect ¼” seam. It’s also fantastic for stitching around curves and doing top stitching on garments or other sewing projects. The ¼” foot with the blade on the side of it is still included with the Janome MC 9400 and while it’s very helpful when piecing, I sometimes wish it didn’t have the blade on it. I can now use the new HP foot and still get that perfect scant ¼” seam. I’ve been eagerly awaiting this type of foot from Janome and I will be using it for piecing my quilt tops.There’s one more item that I wanted to mention about the Janome Horizon MC9400 QCP and that is the visibility in the needle plate/sewing area. The body of the machine has been changed so it curves back away from you which allows better visibility in this area. This improved styling allows you to get in really close and see exactly what you’re stitching without having to lower your head.  I find this especially helpful when working on very detailed projects where I need all the help I can get in seeing what I’m stitching. This changed shape comes as a direct result of consumer requests and is an enormous ergonomic benefit.


I can’t wait to piece new quilts (and finish some UFO’s) with the Janome Horizon MC9400QCP. I know that these new features will help me to make more tops in less time and with better results. If you haven’t yet had the opportunity to test drive the Janome MC9400, please contact your local dealer to do so. You’re going to love it!

For more information and tutorials on Janome sewing machines please visit:

About lizafrica

I am the National Education Manager for Janome & Elna Canada (including Artistic Creative products) and I LOVE to sew! I have been employed full time in the sewing and quilting industry for almost 30 years so I bring a wealth of sewing knowledge & expertise to this blog. I enjoy all forms of sewing from quilting to sewing garments to machine embroidery and software. Pretty much everything in my life is seen through the eyes of a passionate sewer! I am constantly on the look out for fun, innovative and inspiring ideas to share with you all on this blog. I also love to read, knit , travel and spend time with my family and friends.
This entry was posted in Janome Horizon MC9400 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to JANOME HORIZON MC9400 – A FIRST LOOK

  1. Elaine Wagner says:

    I read in the comments that the hp foot is compatible with the MC15000. Can I buy just the foot without the needle plate? Or do I need the needle plate? I would love to have a quarter inch sewing foot without the blade. Thank you.

    Like

    • lizafrica says:

      Hi Elaine,

      We are currently launching an upgrade for the Janome MC15000 across the US this month. The upgrade kit will include the HP plate and foot for MC15000 (together with a bunch of other great feet). The SOFTWARE UPDATE will be free but must be installed by your local Jnaome dealer ONLY due to some improvements that need to be made to the machine. This free firmware update will not be posted online as it goes hand in hand with other things only an approved Janome Dealer may install. Our local dealers are still in the process of finding out about these upgrades/updates so will not have the full information nor upgrade kits yet. These should become available during September if your dealer attended one of the City Limits Tours in the US.

      Please note that under no circumstances should the HP plate and foot be used on the MC15000 without the software upgrade having been done first. The software update is necessary for the HP plate to be compatible with the MC15000. At this point, the HP plate and foot is ONLY compatible with the MC9400.

      I hope that addresses your query. You will be able to update your MC15000 and purchase the upgrade kit within the next month or so.

      Liz
      JANOME CANADA

      Like

  2. Hi, Is the new HP needle plate and new foot compatible with the 8900? Love this new machine, but, alas my 8900 is still new, have to wait before I upgrade. Thank you! 🙂

    Like

  3. When I was first introduced to this machine last year at Sawyer’s here in Victoria I fell in love (as many did in that workshop – several were sold right then and there!) but I waited then the Elna Excellence 780 was released (the same machine with the Elna brand name) and my resistance to temptation flew out the window. I’ve been working on it for 6 months and can’t say enough great things about it. I LOVE this machine. I’m a garment sewer and it will do everything i need it to do in wovens and knits.

    Like

Share your comments

