Make Something Simple Really Pop With Life

20171107_185353

This month, for my machine embroidery club, I digitized some flowers that reminded me of my recent vacation in Hawaii.  I purposely digitized them with very little detail.  I wanted to have the embroidery designs simply be a basic outline that could be embellished with fabric markers, paints, crystals, buttons, etc. after being stitched.

Not all embroidery designs are created equally.  Some designs lack in detail and precise shape.  They basically look more like a ‘blob’ than a finely tuned design.  Never fail, our Janome Embroidery machines can stitch the designs with little emphasis on the stitches and then use them as the outline shape to ‘color’ in.  How do we accomplish this?  Using 100 weight thread (matching the color of the background fabric)  in the machine will create a very light outline stitch of the pattern.  Even if it is not pretty, we need not be concerned because the stitches will not be the focus of the design.

Set up your favorite Janome machine ( mine is the Horizon MC 15000 Quiltmaker machine) and set it to the embroidery mode.  Call in your less than stellar design.  Use a smaller needle for the light weight thread.  REMEMBER, if you use your auto needle threader, you should not use a needle smaller than size 11.  If you want an even smaller needle, then you must hand thread the eye to avoid breaking your auto threader!!! Thread the machine with the 100 weight thread on the top.  I use just regular weight bobbin thread (60 – 80 weight), but you may choose to use the same thread in both the bobbin and top of the machine.

Stitch your design.  Because it is such light weight thread, it hardly shows. This is one of the designs I chose to use.  Definitely not pretty at all.

stitchout of design

After stitching, get creative with your embellishing tools.  Paints, buttons, crystals, etc will all add more definition to your embroidered designs.cropped painted image 2

cropped painted image

 

 

About ymenear

I have been sewing my entire life. I love sewing of all types but recently I have focused on quilting and machine embroidery. I am an educator for quilting and embroidery design software and I own and operate a machine embroidery club that teaches students how to use their machine effectively while creating their own unique projects. I love travel and getting to know people from different regions and seeing how they create projects with their machines.
This entry was posted in Janome 500E, Janome creativity, Janome Educator, JANOME EMBROIDERY SOFTWARE, Janome Horizon MC15000 Quilt Maker, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.