A Little Zippy Will Do

Our local hospital has a gift shop which is run strictly by volunteers. They have snacks and little homemade things for people to purchase to make the patient’s stay a little more pleasant or put a smile on someone’s face. I’ve spent a lot of money there as I like to grab a snack whenever I am visiting, and always find some new treasures.

I also crochet, so I make dish cloths and scrubbies and donate them to the gift shop to sell, with all proceeds going back to the hospital.

My embroidery group, the Hoop Posse, wanted to give back to our community. We talked with the manager and created these Zippy bags to donate.

Some of the bags have an embroidered design on them which is built-in to the Janome 550E Embroidery Machine. I didn’t put it on all the bags as some of the fabric had a busy print and I felt the embroidery design would be lost.

These don’t take very long to make and don’t take very much fabric. You don’t even have to use the same fabric for each part, so it is a great scrap busting project, as well!

Most embroidery sites have an In-The-Hoop (ITH) zippered bag pattern with instructions how to embellish and even install the zipper entirely with the embroidery machine! They are very quick and easy to create, which make them the perfect little gift, or giveaway.

About Anne Stitcher

I have been an Educator with Janome for several years now. Crafting is my passion. I love to sew, quilt, crochet, knit, cross-stitch, scrapbook, paper tole and cook. I have so many hobbies. I am always doing something. I love to use my skills to help people in need and to pass on my knowledge to others. Happy Sewing!
This entry was posted in Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.