SUMMER SEWING PART 2: LITTLE GIRLS SUNDRESSES/PILLOWCASE DRESSES

PIC FROM SEWSCRUMPTIOUS.BLOGSPOT.COM

PIC FROM SEWSCRUMPTIOUS.BLOGSPOT.COM

These are known as pillow case dresses:  the fabric and part of the construction in the pic below is courtesy of my JANOME dealer, Trudy,  in LANGLEY, BC who gave me the partially made sundresses some time back. I finally got the time to sew the tie straps on & put up the hems. I added in a section of plain yellow fabric in the one as my eldest grand daughter is very tall. She is just 3 & wears T5/6 size clothing. She is a big child and I love her an awful lot. You Grannies out there will know exactly what I mean when I say that when she says “nanna” my heart just melts! And the little one who is 2 is just the cutest little button – every day we understand her long baby talk conversations a little more! ……yes, I know I am a very biased Nanna indeed.

sundress3

Anyway, here are my precious babies in their new little sundesses…..just perfect for the incredible summer heat we are having in BC. My thanks to Trudy at Langley Vacuum & Sewing, BC for her inspiration and encouragement with this project.

If you want to know how to make these simple little sundresses, check out this link.

PIC FROM HOMEKETEERS.COM

PIC FROM HOMEKETEERS.COM

If you prefer to watch a video to learn how to make these little dresses, try this  which is a video from the very popular Crafty Gemini or this  from Sew Sweet who show how to make the Little Dresses for Africa project. My dealer and her customers are also making these dresses to send to little girls in Africa. In fact, they were SO quick & easy to make, I am going to see if I can make some to take with me to South Africa in November. I am sure to see some under privileged little girls who will think Christmas came early if I hand out a dress here & there. Will not be making a big dent in the huge poverty but every little helps……right??

PIC FROM BELLARAGEOUS 3.BP.BLOGSPOT.COM

PIC FROM BELLARAGEOUS 3.BP.BLOGSPOT.COM

About Janome Canada

For over 100 years, Janome has been the brand of choice for sewing, embroidery, longarm quilting, sergers, coverhem machines - and MORE! Our Janome Canada head office; our Janome HQ, is the Janome Sewing and Learning Centre in Oakville, ON. Be sure to follow us here on Janome Life blog, as well as our other Janome Canada social media so you get the most from your Janome machine! @janomehq @janomecanada Janome HQ Facebook, Janome Canada Facebook Janome HQ You Tube channel, Janome Life You Tube channel
This entry was posted in Creativity, GARMENT SEWING WITH JANOME, Janome Fun and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to SUMMER SEWING PART 2: LITTLE GIRLS SUNDRESSES/PILLOWCASE DRESSES

  1. Bridget says:

    Adorable grandchildren Liz and the dresses are really cute too!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.