Finding Fabric in the Wild

Do you find yourself spending a pretty penny on new fabrics? Do you want to reduce your carbon footprint? I know I do!

Finding yardage second hand is a great way to help the environment since you’re not adding to the demand to produce new fabric. Great fabrics can be found for a fraction of the retail price. Saving on fabric means you can put more towards new Janome accessories and machines!

For rolls and large quantities, Facebook Marketplace and Kijiji are my go-to. Just type in “fabric” and see what pops up! For whatever reason, many people don’t end up using the fabric they purchase and sell it off for a fraction of what they originally paid. Just recently, I picked up a roll of this lovely dark brown faux leather. It sold in a store for $12.09 a metre, but I got the whole roll for a whopping $20! I’ve yet to measure just how much is on here, but it’s certainly enough for at least two projects.

This fabric would be perfect for making a Sew4Home duffel bag, or one of the FREE Sew4Home projects under the INSPIRE tab on Janome.CA.

My incredible Janome HD9BE is the perfect machine for a project like this. It’s capable of producing a very long stitch length which makes for beautiful topstitching on bags. The extra high presser foot lift can accommodate multiple layers, and the powerful motor provides the piercing power to match, even at slower speeds!

Thrift stores and charity shops are a great place for sourcing yardage and lining for one-off projects. Many have a dedicated rack for fabric near the crafts section, or bedding section. I’ve had incredible luck finding denim, corduroy, lining, knits, and other fabrics on these racks. Of course, you won’t strike gold every single time, but digging for treasure is half the fun!

With bits of yardage from 4 different kinds of denim found at my local thrift store, I made these jeans. The limitations of finding fabric force me to think and solve problems creatively, resulting in unique finished projects like this one!

Another great option is to look at the bedding section. You can find large pieces of soft, 100% cotton for $10 or less! Duvet covers in particular give you lots of fabric to work with. These fabrics are great for beginner sewists to practice making button up shirts, dresses, skirts, and more! As an added bonus, you won’t have to worry about shrinkage or colour leaking when you wash it since the fabric has already been washed so many times.

A couple of years ago I found a blue sky duvet cover at my local thrift store. I really liked the fabric and decided to make a shirt and pants out of it! Here is a photo of my band mate wearing the outfit at one of our shows!

Next time you’re at your local thrift store, have a look at the crafts or bedding section. You may be surprised! Stay tuned for more ideas and inspiration!

This entry was posted in Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments