Fall is For: The Continental M8 Professional

Fall is my favorite season of the year. I love watching the trees turn into fiery swaths of gold and red. I genuinely enjoy my first pumpkin spice latte (by the fourth or fifth… I’m kinda over it). I can’t wait to pull out my coziest sweaters. And, of course, I get to experience the newest machines in the Janome line-up. This year’s Fall Favourite Model: the Continental M8 Professional

Here at S4H, we were already fans of the CM7 and had been using it in our studios for a wide variety of projects, such as our Favorite Overnight Duffle, the Overall Casual Empire Waist Apron, and the quilted Bright Spot Weather Ready Tote. With all these successes under our belts with the M7, I admit to being a wee bit skeptical about how much more the next level M8 could add. But in true Janome fashion, they’ve come up with another winner that adds exciting new features and options.

I have to start with the fact that the Continental M8 comes standard with the new Janome A.S.R. Accurate Stitch Regulator™ and four special A.S.R. feet: closed-toe, open toe, clear view, and an exclusive ruler work foot so all of your free-motion needs are covered. Using camera technology, the job of the A.S.R.™ is to keep consistent spacing between the stitches, resulting in smooth curves and balanced stitches. A couple things about Janome’s version of a regulator, because you know Janome is always thinking about the best and most intuitive enhancements: the surface of the camera moving across your fabric is larger and does a better job reading and regulating on dark fabrics, plus – you can adjust the regulation as your skills build.

As part of the Continental Series, the M8 has the same wide open work area as other models in the line. There is 13.7” of workspace and a total work area of nearly 18”. With the added extension table (yes! It’s standard!!) you get even more space. And that work table has the cutest little built-in drawer to store your most-used feet and accessories. 

In the “how handy is that?!” category, I love how you can download the Janome AcuSpark2 app then use that app to scan a QR code on the screen of your machine to see information about the stitch, recommended presser feet, adjustment tips, and more. I know we all came up with manuals the size of a small toaster, but I for one am more than happy to see those come into the digital age: faster, easier, and right at your fingertips. 

The Continental M8 has the industry’s best layered fabric feeding system: the Detachable AcuFeed Flex™. Even the trickiest substrates and the thickest layers can feed more smoothly and easily across the needle plate. In addition, Janome’s famous HP foot and HP2 foot and their companion needle plate are all standard. These narrow gauge, industrial-type feet are perfect for curves and precise topstitching, providing both ease of control and superior visibility, and sized perfectly for creating ¼” seams.

Those are my four Big + Best Favourites, but sometimes, I’m also blown away by the little things Janome adds and/or retains as most-loved features from previous models that 1) I never realized I needed, and 2) now I cannot imagine living without. 

My top ten on the Continental M8 Professional:

  1. Cloth Guide
  2. Needle Thumb Wheel
  3. Superior Needle Threader
  4. 450 Built-in Stitches
  5. Stitch Width + Length Adjustment Dials
  6. Centered Touch Screen
  7. Extra High Presser Foot Lift
  8. Auto Thread Cutter
  9. One-Touch Needle Plate Conversion 
  10. Floating Mode – for just a tiny presser foot lift… you have to try this at your Janome dealer

All that and, as they always say, so much more! Yes! There is more! Right now through the end of the year, your participating Janome Canada dealers are offering amazing debut savings on the Continental M8. You can save almost 50% with an introductory price of $6,599. 

Happy Sewing!

This entry was posted in Janome Continental M8, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fall is For: The Continental M8 Professional

  1. jgatcc says:

    Unsubscribe. jg

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPad

    Like

  2. Pat Herren says:

    I have a 6600P and a 15000 and can’t decide if I want to upgrade, and to which machine.

    Like

  3. Glenda Cartwright says:

    I’ve had the M7 since its release approx 5 years and I love this machine. I just purchased the M8, I’ve noted that my straight stitch is not as straight as on the M7 and I’ve also had some tension issues. Is this something that can be corrected?

    Like

    • AmandaBee says:

      Hi Glenda, I’m sorry you having some issues with the tension. Absolutely reach out to your dealer and schedule a time you can take your M8 in. I suggest taking a sample of your stitches from the M7 to show them what you are looking for. They can help you make sure everything is working properly and help with some fine tuning of the tension to get your desired look. ~ Amanda

      Like

Share your comments