Janome Presser Foot Spotlight – Serger Blind Stitch Foot

I’ve been steadily working my way through a number of different attachments for my Janome AirThread 2000D.

Most recently, I gave the Blind Stitch Foot for my serger a try. I love using the blind hem foot on my Janome Skyline S9 machine. How wonderful that there’s a foot for the serger.

It’s really easy to change the feet on the Janome AirThread 2000D. At the back of the presser foot, there’s a little white button that releases the current foot and allows you to snap in a new one.

The instructions that are included with the Blind Stitch Foot make it really easy to set up the Janome AirThread 2000D for this stitch.

This foot is a three thread stitch. Which means that the left needle needs to be removed to continue. This is actually really easy to do. At the front of the serger, the two needles are clearly marked.

With the little flat screwdriver that is included with the serger machine accessories, it needle is easily removed. I unthreaded the thread from the machine for the left needle and we were good to go!

With the Blind Stitch Foot in place, there’s a little round knob in the front that allows adjustments to where the fabric lines up. Moving that allows you to perfectly line up and create your blind stitch.

I played around with several different kinds of fabric once I had the Blind Stitch Foot all set up. I love that you can use both knit and woven fabrics with this foot and the serger.

Using the Blind Stitch Foot is similar to how you’d use it on a sewing machine. Fold over and iron the hem on on your fabric.

Fold over the fabric to create an “s” shape and line up the edge on the presser foot.

Follow along the fabric with the presser foot.

When you’ve completed the stitch you can open up your fabric and press the stitch open. It helps if you use a thread that blends with your fabric.

For knit fabrics, I can see myself using this stitch a lot for hems and sleeve cuffs.

On woven fabrics, this creates a nice serged finished edge on the wrong side of the fabric, along with the Blind Stitch.

I’m excited for the different ways to use this serger foot. And I love that it hems and creates a blind stitch at the same time.

Have you used using the Blind Stitch Foot on your Janome serger? How do you think you’d use this foot?

Trina Gallop
Janome Canada Artisan

This entry was posted in Janome AT2000D serger, JANOME SERGERS, Janome Sewing Machine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments