Tooth Fairy Pillow

We’ve entered into a new, exciting stage for my daughter. We’ve been anticipating it for a while and after some long-awaited anticipation, she recently lost her first tooth!

Of course, with that came her first Tooth Fairy visit with her tooth under her pillow in a not-so-glamorous zipper lock bag (hey, it did the trick and apparently the tooth fairy didn’t mind, lol!). Growing up, I remember I had a special little stuffed tooth pillow to put in my precious little gift for the tooth fairy, so I decided to make one for my daughter.

These little projects are the perfect size for an in-the-hoop (ITH) embroidery project! I found this tooth fairy pillow ITH embroidery file here. It’s absolutely adorable and perfect for visits from the tooth fairy which I think will be happening with increasing frequency here over the next little while.

To start, I made a little strap with can be used to hang the pillow on a door knob or hook.

What I love about my Janome Skyline S9 is that it’s so easy to do both sewing and machine embroidery. With a quick little foot change, we go from sewing to our ITH embroidery project.

Switching over to embroidery is so easy. I changed over the foot and with a few quick taps on the large LCD screen, I’m ready to embroider.

To set up my embroidery file, I use the Janome AcuEdit app, a free app which works with the Janome Skyline S9 and Janome MC15000. Once my file is downloaded on my iPad, I can edit size, colour and other features.

Transferring my final file over to my Janome Skyline S9 is easy using the WIFI feature of the machine.

This tooth fairy pillow came together rather quickly. All the information pertaining to the embroidery design; the presser foot to use on the machine, the time it’ll take for the design to stitch out, the thread colour sequence, which hoop to use (which you can also change if you’d like to use a larger hoop) is all on the LCD screen. There’s no guesswork. It’s all there for you!

I love how ITH embroidery projects are built out layer by layer. It’s fun to see them come together!

I picked some fun fabrics that I knew my daughter would love.

This project even included a little background quilting before embroidering the text.

I mean, how could the tooth fair not stop with such a beautiful little sign?!

The large tooth on the pillow was outlined first and the darker fabric was cut out so that it didn’t show through to the lighter fabric that was sewn over top.

This would be the perfect time to use the Janome 4″ Mini Duckling Applique scissors! The flanged “duckbill” of the lower blade of the scissors protects the lower layer of fabric from accidentally being trimmed away while you cut around the applique. The handles are offset so the won’t hit the side of the embroidery hoop. The I need a pair, hint, hint!

This ITH embroidery design includes a little applique tooth design.

After trimming away the fabric of the applique close to the line of stitching, a satin stitch finishes the raw edge of the appliqué, so everything is secure and finished beautifully.

The last step of this project is to enclose everything together.

Once the top and bottom are stitched right sides together, the entire project can be turned right-side out.

A little hand stitching at the opening completes the tooth fairy pillow, or you could stitch this opening by machine very close to the edge of the fabric.

My daughter was really excited to receive her Tooth Fairy pillow. Now to wait for the next tooth to fall out!

Have you made any ITH embroidery projects? Anyone want to offer a little help on what the tooth fairy’s going rate is these days – in Canadian dollars? lol!

This entry was posted in Janome Canada Artisan, Janome Sewing Machine, JANOME SKYLINE SERIES, Skyline S9 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your comments